Client Testimonials

Scott Hebl and Robb Prechtel

  • Submitted: December 2015
  • Stayed: December 2015
  • Rating: 5 stars

Just a quick note to thank you for the amazing stay we had at Casa Big Sur. We all really enjoyed the home and all of its amenities. We will keep the home in mind for future groups and spread the word of our experience.

I have included one of my favorite pictures of the trip.

Brian Hart and Family

  • Submitted: January 2016
  • Stayed: December 2015
  • Rating: 5 stars

But grateful as always to the both of you for all your help and for the privilege of being able to spend time in Costa Rica. Your new crew at the house were absolutely lovely. You’ve done well bringing them on board.

For your perusal, the Casa Big Sur yard bird list is below and now stands at 127 species. Most of these can be found simply by standing on the balcony with a vigilant eye and ear. A few require a trip down to the stream. A handful of these were flying overhead and not actually perched in the yard itself.
I guarantee you there are many more to be found, so I’m looking forward to next time! Pura vida!!

Gray-headed Chachalaca - Ortalis cinereiceps, Crested Guan - Penelope purpurascens, Wood Stork - Mycteria Americana, Magnificent Frigatebird - Fregata magnificens………… and the list goes on and on.

Casa Big Sur = Heaven on Earth

Randy Ellis from Newport Beach, CA

  • Submitted: July 2015
  • Stayed: April 2014
  • Rating: 5 stars

After going down with friends and staying at Casa big Sur I can easily see how so many Americans are moving down there. I felt safe and the food was healthy / delicious. The property at Casa Big Sur is a 5 star facility and it doesn’t get any better than this. I tried to capture the beauty of the view through pictures but it doesn’t do it justice to the real time experience of being there. The home sits on over 5 acres of land so you feel like there isn’t anybody around you offering a sense of peace and rain forest serenity that I’ve only dreamed about before visiting Casa Big Sur.  On the property you can take hikes on the trails that offers views from the jungle over-looking the ocean that seem to mesmerize you . I could spend an entire day looking at the view and still wanting more. If you’re planning a trip to Costa Rica don’t miss this opportunity. I know I will be coming back in 2016.

Amazing Home and adventure

Carol C

  • Submitted: March 15, 2015
  • Stayed: February 2015
  • Rating: 5 stars

The pictures of this home do not do it justice. To be able to rent a $5.5 MILLION home for such a great deal. The pictures aren't current. The home boasts 5 very large beautiful bedrooms all with large beds. The view was amazing and the most peaceful place we have ever been. You feel completely secluded from the rest of the world. Let Sidia and Ben reserve your tours, it will make life easier. We hired Roger as our chef for the week and it was the best experience of the trip. We ate out twice and found Roger's food to be far more superior. He and his assistant Michael made our trip feel like a dream come true. They told us about several hidden excursions that only the locals know about...you will have to ask him to find them :) To be able to find a chef that you loved every meal, breakfast, lunch, and dinner was a true delight! They spoiled us and left us feeling like we gained new family members! We uses Luna tours for fishing, which our guys stated to be their best adventure after catching 17 sailfish in one day! We all loved the ADR 10 in One tour- it was AMAZING, even the ride up and down the mountain! We loved our tour guides Marcello and Henry from Dominical Surf Adventures for white water rafting! Sidia set up our car rentals which were delivered to the house. She also set us up with a wonderful driver to pick us up and return us to the airport. After 8 days in beautiful Costa Rica, all 9 of us were sad to see our trip end. We loved every moment and believe this was a trip of a lifetime!

Stunning setting, exceptional service

Ann Cohen--real estate junkie from Boston, MA

  • Submitted: January 15, 2015
  • Stayed: December 2014
  • Rating: 5 stars

It's hard to imagine a better place for a family with adult children to convene! The afternoon toucan show(about 5 of them) viewed from the pool area was the best! The customer care was welcoming, genuinely helpful, and available all the time.

Casa Big Sur = Heaven on Earth

M. and D. Kowalik from San Clemente, CA

  • Submitted: June, 2014
  • Stayed: April, 2014
  • Rating: 5 stars

We had heard about Costa Rica for years and how beautiful it is and finally got a chance to visit.  We stayed at Casa Big Sur and the only way to describe it is heavenly.  The home sits high on hillside looking at one of the most magnificent views in the world.  The views of the rain forest and coast line are breathtaking, allowing us to see Costa Rica in a way only a few get to see.  This home is such a Rock-Star home that we didn't need to leave to go out and explore every day.  We just wanted to stay and relax in the infinity pool over-looking this majestic view.  There are few chances one gets to stay in such a beautiful home and take in all the wonders of Costa Rica.

The Ultimate Luxury family vacation!

The Stewart’s from Carlsbad, CA

  • Submitted: July 24, 2014
  • Stayed: March 2014
  • Rating: 5 stars

In April 2014 our family spent an amazing week at Casa Big Sur in Costa Rica. Casa Big Sur is indeed a family friendly, luxury home with a million dollar view out almost every window. Housekeeper, Carolina, groundskeeper, Didier, and property manager, Ben took care of all our needs while we were there. The home had everything we needed to make our stay perfect. Beautiful surroundings, impeccable decor, panoramic views. The house is in close driving proximity to beach caves at Ventanas Beach, the Whales Tail at Punta Uvita Beach, Manual Antonio National Park, and of course various surf breaks. There is a great bar/restaurant a short walk away with great burgers, wings, and drinks.

Despite the close proximity to all these things, my 7 and 9 year old kids favorite part of the trip was the amazing infinity pool at Casa Big Sur. Here they spent hours playing, bird watching, and in awe of the view. Thank you Casa Big Sur for the magical and unforgettable family vacation. We loved it! Great for kids and we hope to return soon.

Dennis G from Seattle, WA

  • Submitted: April 5, 2013
  • Stayed: February 2013
  • Rating: 5 stars

"This house was surely one of the finest, well-appointed homes we have ever had the pleasure of staying in! The location was just great for us--off-the- beaten path yet within reach. The view was stunning, the wildlife abundant, the home immaculate. Our concierge, the owner of the property, Ben, was more than accommodating, checking on us from time to time to be sure everything was going well. Having the caretaker on site at all times was also helpful for any problems and also security on the property. Three of us were travelling together, and when we arrived--late, from a long drive in traffic, Ben was waiting for us to give us the tour. The table was set for 3, there were 3 walking sticks and 3 umbrellas at the door for adventures--everything was perfect!! The only thing we found not-user-friendly was the electronic controls for the spa/pool. Several times had issues making it work correctly, but we were told in advance that it sometimes was tricky. Got it eventually"

"Once again, Casa Big Sur was more than we expected. It is such a perfect spot on the mountain for the views and the peace and quiet. You can totally relax and just enjoy the days passing one into another. We had an action packed vacation. The horseback riding, snorkeling at Cano Island, and the ATV experience were great. They were all so much fun that its hard to decide on a favorite."

Amazing Surroundings!!!!!!

Doug L. from Huntington Beach, CA

  • Submitted: February 4, 2012
  • Stayed: August 2011
  • Rating: 4 stars

This is house is better than the pictures. The wildlife that lives on the property make you feel as if your all alone in nature. As far as the house is concerned it exceeded all the expectations. The master suites are humungous with huge showers and a Jacuzzi tub with a view that was still private. The pool is incredible, I am not a big swimmer but I found myself floating on the provided pool rafts every afternoon while watching the toucans and macaws flying over-head. The only negative thing about house is that the two downstairs rooms as well as the bathroom are only accessible by going outside. This wouldn’t be a problem except there are some pretty Ginormous bugs in CR, so if you have someone afraid of bugs put them upstairs. As far as getting to the house, they are not kidding about having four wheel drive. It was pretty unbelievable the first drive up but after that It was actually pretty fun. The service was great and I would definitely go back.